Catherine Asaro

Award Winning Science Fiction & Fantasy Author

Amazon icon Autographed icon Book Bub icon Booksprout icon Email icon Facebook icon Goodreads icon Instagram icon Patreon icon Periscope icon Pinterest icon RSS icon Snapchat icon Tumblr icon Twitter icon Vine icon Youtube icon

Primary Inversion

Book 1 in the Saga of the Skolian Empire

Founded by the Ruby Dynasty, the Skolian Imperialate rules a third of the civilized galaxy. But war with the rival Trader empire looms, a conflict that can only lead to slavery for the Skolians or the destruction of both sides. When Soz Valdoria, an fighter pilot and daughter of the Ruby Dynasty, meets Jaibriol Qox the Second, the Trader emperor’s heir, all bets are off. With hostile forces seeking their capture or death, Soz and Jabriol must work together to find salvation for their people before war destroys them all.

Asaro rewrote the eBook version of Primary Inversion, polishing the original, and considers it the best version.

“An unusually masterful first novel.  Physicist Asaro combines hard speculative science and first-rate storytelling.”— Booklist

“An imaginative debut that takes off at a frantic pace, with dazzling technology, stirring battles and mental hijinks … plenty of energy and invention.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Fast, smart, speculative and full of theorizing about faster-than-light drive, PRIMARY INVERSION is a stellar debut.”— Los Angeles Daily News

“Hard science fiction fans can rejoice—the next superstar is here.”—Romantic Times Book Review

On the Skolian Empire series:

“One of the major series in the genre.” —SF Chronicle

“Asaro’s Skolian saga is now nearly as long and in many ways as compelling as DUNE, if not more so.” —Booklist

“Known for her brilliance at combining science, adventure and riveting characterization, Catherine Asaro breaks new territory…”—Mary Jo Putney, New York Times bestselling author of Once a Spy and Dearly Beloved.

Excerpt Coming Soon!

Primary Inversion

is available in the following formats:

Tor Science Fiction

Mar 1, 1995

ISBN-13: 978-0765336064